8 Books

18 Aug

Oh, the return of *8 Things!  (Remember, this is originally a Magpie Girl concept – please click her link in the blogroll to the right and show her some love).

8 Books On My Nightstand:
1.  Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach (currently reading)
2.  Perpetual War For Perpetual Peace by Gore Vidal (almost done, but it’s a heavy.  I have to have light reading simultaneously, hence Stiff)
3.  The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank (book swap score, next on my list)
4.  Magical Thinking by Augusten Burroughs (I’m addicted to his memoirs, thanks Stardust!)
5.  A Night Without Armor by Jewel (because I have to pick up a poetry book at least 5 times a week to keep living and breathing)
6.  The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran (technically already read, several times, but I’ve been picking it up again lately.)
7.  Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith (I need to read this next because I borrowed it from Manna, but the Girls’ Guide is calling as well.  We’ll see who wins.)
8.  Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (awaiting this book swap find!)

What are you reading, darlings?

3 Responses to “8 Books”

  1. Manna August 18, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    Don’t be in any rush to get me my books back – I’m in no hurry. You can keep them as long as you’d like. :)

    I’m currently working on a MAT prep book (BORING) and a book called The 19th Wife. It’s a fictionalized story of the 19th wife of a LDS polygamist being accused of murdering him – contrasted with a true story written in 1875 by the 19th wife of a powerful LDS church member/polygamist who left the church (and her husband).

  2. murmurkibbies August 18, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    I’m reading Armageddon in Retrospect by our old pal Kurt. I will start on Piglet soon as it’s done! (I’m mostly a 1-book-at-a-time kinda gal. Mostly.)

  3. Scott August 19, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Where’s Watership Down????? j/k, I do like it though. =)

Got somethin' to add?

